December 2 and 3, 2021

14th German
Sustainability Award.

Since 2008, the DNP has been giving sustainability in companies and in society a big stage and presenting the best concepts against global warming, overuse of resources, species extinction and social division. This year, the award will be presented in Düsseldorf for the fourteenth time.

Role models for tomorrow's society.

The 14th German Sustainability Award will be presented on 3.12.2021 at the MARITIN Hotel in Düsseldorf -.
the 2nd DNP Design award ceremony will take place the evening before.

The award ceremonies have developed into distinctive formats. They draw their power from the seriousness and reputation of the award, relevant content, fascinating personalities, emotional moments, and appreciation for the different responses to common challenges. The goal is to achieve the broadest possible reach with strong narratives of sustainability for award winners and partners. Among the guests are personalities from business, politics, culture, sports and media - Among the guests

are personalities from important multipliers for the idea of ​​sustainable development. After the virtual event 2020, we expect again this year several hundred guests in the audience and live prizewinners and laudators on stage, depending on the rules that apply in December. The program will follow shortly.

Friday 3rd December 2021
MARITIM Hotel, Düsseldorf

To Billie Eilish From Space.

Superstar Billie Eilish will receive the Honorary Award of the German Sustainability Award. She will receive the award virtually on Friday evening during the award ceremony of the 14th German Sustainability Award. She will be honoured by German astronaut Matthias Maurer (ESA) directly from the International Space Station ISS.

These are the Honorary Award winners of the 14th GSA.

Besides Billie Eilish, Oscar winner Forest Whitaker will also receive his Honorary Award virtually. EU Commission President Ursula von der Leyen and climatologist John Schellnhuber will be present to receive their awards on stage. Joss Stone, Chris de Burgh – both also Honorary Laureates – and Nathan Evans will provide musical accompaniment to the ceremony.

The winners of the 13th GSA at a glance.

The 13th German Sustainability Award was presented on December 4, 2020. In cooperation with the German government, prizes were awarded for the best concepts to combat global warming, resource overuse, species extinction and social division. Honorary prizes were awarded to British singer Sir Elton John, US futurologist Jeremy Rifkin, musician Joy Denalane and singer-songwriter Jack Johnson. Prof. Ugur Sahin and Dr. Özlem Türeci were honored for developing the first Corona vaccine.

Design Awards Ceremony on December 3, 2020.

The German Sustainability Award Design celebrated its premiere in 2020. What the design world contributes to the transformation deserves attention. The winners received their awards at their own award ceremony on December 3, 2020. It was their evening – in the sign of respect for the different ways to the same goal.

Our last year's honorary award winners.

On December 3, 2020, industrial designer Dieter Rams and the band Milky Chance were honored for their commitment to sustainability. Other honorary awards went to British singer Sir Elton John, US futurologist Jeremy Rifkin, musician Joy Denalane and singer-songwriter Jack Johnson. Prof. Ugur Sahin and Dr. Özlem Türeci were honored for developing the first Corona vaccine. This year's special Next Economy Award went to web designer, musician and entrepreneur Fynn Kliemann.

The 13th DNP in times of Corona.

By the middle of the year, it was certain that the German Sustainability Award 2020 would take place. But differently. How can the congress and award ceremony be implemented in these times? What will it be like to moderate and discuss without an audience on site? Stefan Schulze-Hausmann describes the decisions and stages of the last months and his impressions of the implementation of the 13th GSD.

Fighting for change.

The GSA honorary awards are presented to prominent figures that promote and strengthen the idea of sustainability on a nationwide or even international level, be it in the context of their professional activities or through voluntary commitment. They draw the attention of the media to the other award winners from companies, local governments and research.

Portrait von Bundespraesident und Schirmherr Frank-Walter Steinmeier 2017.

Politically grounded.

The first patron of the German Sustainability Award in 2008 was the then acting Federal President Prof. Horst Köhler. Subsequently, Federal Chancellor Dr. Angela Merkel took over the patronage for several years. This was followed by a number of politicians who supported the award with speeches and welcoming addresses. The patron of the tenth anniversary in 2017 was Federal President Dr. Frank-Walter Steinmeier.

Um unsere Webseite für Sie fortlaufend verbessern zu können, verwenden wir Cookies. Durch die weitere Nutzung der Webseite stimmen Sie der Verwendung von Cookies zu. Mehr dazu in unserer Datenschutzerklärung.