German Sustainability Strategy

Cooperation with the Federal Government.

From the beginning, the German Sustainability Award has been granted in close cooperation with the German government, which has made the award a measure of the German Sustainability Strategy.


Extensive cooperation.

The cooperation includes the (further) development of the methodology (from 2008; German Council for Sustainable Development), the joint awarding of prizes (including the BMBF Research Prize), regular patronages (including German Chancellor Dr. Angela Merkel in 2009, 2011, 2015, 2016), and the participation of federal ministers in the award ceremonies (annually since 2008).


The winners as guests
of the Chancellor.

On November 6, 2019, initiator Stefan Schulze-Hausmann and jury chairman Prof. Günther Bachmann presented six DNP award winners to German Chancellor Dr. Angela Merkel. The CEOs/board members of Grüner Punkt, REWE Group, Deutsche Telekom, Sodasan and Knipex explained their successes and took a position on the German Sustainability Strategy.


German Sustainability Award for Research.

Since 2012, the German Federal Ministry of Education and Research has presented an award for outstanding scientific achievements related to sustainability. Until 2019, special successes in changing subject areas were awarded; from 2020, new ideas are to be inspired within the framework of "Makeathons".


Federal ministers present
the awards.

The guests were Federal Ministers Olaf Scholz and Brigitte Zypries (2008), Karl-Theodor zu Guttenberg, Thomas de Maizière and Franz-Josef Jung (2009), Dr. Norbert Röttgen (2010), Ilse Aigner and Ronald Pofalla (2011), Dr. Wolfgang Schäuble and Dr. Guido Westerwelle (2012), Sabine Leutheusser-Schnarrenberger (2013), Peter Altmaier, Prof. Johanna Wanka (2014), Dr. Barbara Hendricks (2015/2016), Katarina Barley, Svenja Schulze and Gerd Müller (2018) and Dr. Franziska Giffey (2019).



The first patron of the German Sustainability Award was the then acting Federal President Prof. Horst Köhler in 2008. Subsequently, German Chancellor Dr. Angela Merkel took over the patronage for several years. This was followed by numerous politicians who backed the award with speeches and greetings. The patron of the tenth anniversary in 2017 was Federal President Dr. Frank-Walter Steinmeier.


Um unsere Webseite für Sie fortlaufend verbessern zu können, verwenden wir Cookies. Durch die weitere Nutzung der Webseite stimmen Sie der Verwendung von Cookies zu. Mehr dazu in unserer Datenschutzerklärung.